January 6, 2012

Burn down your cities and leave our farms, and your cities will spring up again as if by magic; but destroy our farms and the grass will grow in the streets of every city in the country. – William Jennings Bryan

This image was taken on my way home from a trip to the grocery store in Butler, MO. It was just one of those moments when I had the camera in the car, saw a beautiful sunset and pulled over to take the shot. I love this kind of “found” photo, it is one of my favorite ways to shoot and I don’t allow myself the time to let it happen nearly as often as I would like – or for that matter should. It seems I’m always in a hurry when I’m out and about. That is not what life is about, but it’s hard to explain to the people waiting for you how you had to take some of their time out to be artistic.

As for the quote, how true it is. If you want to completely understand that, come live amongst farmers for a few years.

Here is a link to an interesting PDF regarding agriculture in the state of Missouri. www.mobio.org/docs/pdfs/MoAgQuickFacts.pdf.

Leave a Reply

